Indiana Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association 2017 Awards

Horse of the Year: Bucchero

Bucchero (Kantharos —Meetmeontime, by General Meeting) had a breakout year in 2017, after scoring a win in the Brickyard Stakes at Indiana Grand Racing and Casino and his first graded stakes win with the Grade 2 Woodford Stakes at Keeneland Racecourse near Lexington. This led to a trip to Southern California for trainer Tim Glyshaw and owners Ironhorse Racing Stable for a shot at the 2017 Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint, where the stallion finished fourth in a tight race for the finish.

Bucchero has lifetime earnings of $770,741. He was purchased for $43,000 at the 2014 Ocala Breeders Horses of Racing Age Sale by Ironhorse Racing from Southern Chase Farm.

Bucchero next planned start is the Grade 3 TwinSpires Turf Sprint at Churchill Downs on Kentucky Oaks Day, May 4. The ultimate goal is Bucchero running in the Turf Sprint at the Breeders’ Cup, which will be run on November 3 at Churchill Downs.

Malter, co-owner Vince Liptak and Glyshaw needed many hands to carry their awards from the evening. Team Bucchero also brought home the Indiana Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association (ITOBA) Older Indiana-bred Horse of the Year and ITOBA Horse of the Year. The Dodds were awarded an inscribed silver julep cup from the Daily Racing Form for breeding the fastest Beyer of any Indiana-bred in 2017, hitting 99.

“We have been very proud to carry the flag for Indiana in Bucchero’s travels,” said Malter. “He certainly has racked up more airline miles than we expected.”

Breeder of the Year: Michael and Penny Lauer

The Lauer’s once again brought home the trophy as Breeders of the Year, thanks to earning $187,475 in total breeders’ awards in 2017.

The Michael E. Lauer Racing Stable saw many of their Indiana-bred Thoroughbreds go to the winner’s circle at Indiana Grand, including:

  • Whistle Stop won the Hoosier Breeders Sophomore Stakes
    • Flurrywon the Miss Indiana Stakes
    • Bibbidibobbidi Boo won the City of Anderson Stakes.

They also bred and own Evader the ITOBA Indiana Sired 3-Year-Old Colt/Gelding of the Year Winner and took home a special honor from Blood Horse as Breeder of the Year.

Stallion Owner of the Year: Swifty Farms

The Swifty Farms is located near Seymour, Indiana, where some of the top Indiana stallions that can be seen from Interstate 65. Owner Dana Myers has continued the legacy built by her husband, Don, when he originally founded the farm in 1972.

The farm earned $75,455 in stallion awards in 2017, thanks to a strong year from Pass Rush. One of their other stallion Notional, one of their other stallion, earned ITOBA’s Indiana Stallion of the Year.

Other ITOBA’s 2017 award winners were:

• Indiana-bred 2-Year-Old Colt/Gelding: Jersey Justice, bred by Justice Farm (Greg Justice), owned by Maggi Moss and trained by Thomas Amoss

• Indiana bred 2-Year-Old Filly: Piedi Bianchi, bred by Deann Baer & Dr. Greg Baer, owned by Nice Guy Stables, Jack Bick and Jay Oringer and trained by Doug O’Neill

• Indiana sired 2-Year-Old Colt/Gelding: Mo Money, owned/bred/trained by R. Gary Patrick

• Indiana sired 2-Year-Old Filly: Paisley, owned/bred/trained by Marvin A Johnson • Indiana bred 3-Year-Old Colt/Gelding: Retrospection, owned by Beth Burkett, bred by Randy Burkett, trained by Michael Maker

• Indiana bred 3-Year-Old Filly: Marina’s Legacy, owned/bred by Bone Doctors Stable, trained by Aaron West

• Indiana sired 3-Year-Old Filly: Defining Hope, owned/bred by Colette Marie Vanmatre, trained by Barbara McBride

• Indiana bred  Older Mare: Sweet N Wicker, owned by Felipe Salas, bred by Ron Brown, trained by Wayne Minnock

• Indiana sired Older Horse: Supreme Justice, owned by Acclaimed Racing Stable & Gumpster Stable, bred by Justice Farm (Greg Justice) and trained by Cipriano Contreras

• Indiana sired Older Mare: Joyous Lady, owned by Randy Klopp & Dennis Claramunt, bred by Dennis & Cynthia Claramunt & Randy Klopp, trained by Randy Klopp

• Broodmare of the Year: Adore You, owned by Deann Baer and Dr. Greg Baer

• ITOBA Hall of Distinction: Jonathon Schuster


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *